When to assume and when not to assume. An ongoing loosing battle.

via Daily Prompt: Assumption

Assumption: a thing that is accepted as true or as certain to happen, without proof.

My definition: Hell, I guess. *shrug emoji*

The old saying goes, “When you assume, you make an ass out of you and me.” Get it? This quote makes me chuckle every time I come to a conclusion without asking for clarification. When am I going to learn from this mistake? Most times I come to these conclusions because I feel as though I’m being annoying with my little game of 21 questions. In some cases I’m usually right about what I’ve just assumed. Other times I am the ass. I’ve developed this horrible habit of not being upfront with what I want to know and trying to find my answer in other ways. This never works and most times assumptions are necessary to save myself the trouble of overthinking.

When is the right time to assume? Gut instinct is my only answer to this question I’ve asked myself. It’s gotten me this far. Context clues help best!

When is the right time to not assume? Again, gut instinct. If you feel or know something is wrong or what you’re facing will turn into a bigger problem down the road then ask! Ask away. It’s also important to ask the right questions. This will save you time (and depending on your situation, money). It does not hurt to get clarification.

It’s one thing to base your reaction to an assumption and another to fully understand what it is you don’t know and move accordingly. The smarter option is to always move accordingly with facts. Assuming leads to a wide gap of things left unsaid or undone. Assuming can lead to confusion. Assuming can ruin relationships. Save yourself the trouble and ask.

Now if only I could take my own advice…

Leave a comment