“Adult-ing”

There is so much for me to say in so little time. First off, I’m writing this blog post on 3 hours of sleep so please excuse me if I cut this off and you wanted to know more. This will be short and to the point.

I recently moved out of my parent’s home and into my own. The very first time I’ve been on my own was at 18 during my freshman year in college. Again this post is short and to the point so let’s just say things didn’t go so well. I hated being on my own at 18. (I say on my own because I was 4 hours away from my parents in a dorm but they were taking care of the bill) I couldn’t focus and I was home sick. Now that I’m older, I can appreciate the quiet and the fact that I can have the tv as loud as I want and not have to worry about disturbing anyone.

The newest experience I have are all the bills that come with living on your own. Someone can tell you about the upcoming bills for 40 days and 40 nights but you’re never really ready until the bills come to your mailbox (or to your email account if you’re paperless). It felt kind of good paying bills my first month but now I realize bills will never stop. EVER! This this thing is like a rotating clock with everlasting batteries. It was all good a few months ago.

Not to say that living on my own is hell. It’s amazing. I want to let it be known before I end this post. My weekends are peaceful and quiet. I couldn’t ask for better. As a young woman in my mid twenties, it was time for me to move out on my own and view the world without the veil of “mommy and daddy.” They’ve taught me all they know and now it’s my turn to use what I’ve learned to operate/survive this world.

Honestly, I need to pat myself on the back for making it this far. Shout out to me.

 

P.S. I’m still living out of boxes so you know it’s real.

Leave a Reply

