A short love story with the Note 7

When I say short, I mean short. 72 hours short to be exact. So with all this negative hype surrounding the Note 7 I was curious to get the “fixed” phone and prepare to spend the next two years with it. I can hold on to a phone for a pretty long time. Once I get the hang of how it works, it’s hard for me to let go.

Anyway, I got the Note 7 a few days after it was put back on sale Saturday the 8th of October and that very same day my phone over heated. It scared me I’m not going to lie. Later on I realized it was because it was plugged into my computer and not the white USB thingy that came with the Note. (I am in no way shape or form a tech junkie so forgive me if I spell things the way I say it) Once I felt that it was too hot, and this wasn’t from body heat, I immediately unplugged my phone and left it alone. I wanted to charge my phone and not have to be stuck to a wall outlet because the cord that comes with it is about 3 feet long. Yes there were past stories that had already come out about the phone before but I thought the purpose of a recall was to fix the problem and not just say the problem was fixed. (That’s the way it looks on my end) I wanted the phone since the day it came out but silly me, I didn’t have any idea the phone was out until the reports about the damage it causes came across my twitter feed (The millennial’s newspaper). Again, I’m no techie so I don’t keep up with these kinds of things.

The saddest part about this whole thing was that I actually thought I found a decent working phone and I knew I was going to have this one for a while. It was kind of like being in an abusive relationship where things were fine one minute then things get hot and explode the next.

Pun intended.

