Breaking the Facebook Addiction

Image

 

 

Yes, you’re reading the title correctly. Only I’m not breaking it for good, more like cutting back on how much I visit the site (or go on the app). First I have to apologize to Facebook, they (the company) did nothing to me and I am not mad at all. Just tired and a little frustrated of going on the site and having my entire news feed filled with Vines. I mean really?!? It’s getting harder and harder to “Facebook stalk” (is that a thing?) my crush or check in on my friend’s statuses. And not to mention the ridiculous amounts of game request I’m getting from people I don’t even talk to for some stupid game I don’t even play. There is a way to get rid of those useless notifications by going to the settings and changing what all you want an alert for but I’ve changed that thing so long ago and I’m still getting alerts to my phone for that stuff. Something I’ve noticed too while not going on the Facebook app is that it’ll ring just because to let you know that it will sign you out for inactivity. A week later I go back to check to see if I’m still logged in and I was. So was that a cry for attention? I understand Facebook is trying it’s hardest to not go down the same path as Myspace by becoming forgotten (sorry myspace) and a thing of the past but the dumb game request and hundreds of Vines I have to sift through to catch up on status updates is getting boring.

Side note with Myspace:

So about 4 years ago I go to delete my myspace account and the site would not let me delete my page! I was like, “You can’t hold me hostage here!” And I remember it was 4 years ago because it was when Chris Brown made that apology via YouTube and it was posted everywhere. I stopped to watch it and then went to delete my page. Long story short, it wouldn’t let me do it and I logged myself off forever.

Back to our regularly scheduled programming…

I’m past annoyed with the request, viral Vines and the notifications to wish people a happy birthday. Yes, they come as a notification now and not just that little birthday symbol in the upper right hand corner! This addiction is a tough one to slow down on because it has been my social networking go-to since 2007 and not to mention it is a great way to reconnect with those you’ve lost touch with in the B.F. days (There’s B.C. and A.D. so I thought I’d add a B.F. for Before Facebook 🙂 you’re welcome!). Great way to check-in every once in a while but the jumbled up news feed is pushing me away. Is there a way to get rid of all the Vines? If so please let me know.

 

Thanks for reading my mini rant!

Leave a Reply

