Sometimes soon isn’t soon enough

“Jason, we need to talk.”

“We do, I have something wonderful to tell you.” 

“Me first. There’s something that’s been weighing heavily on my mind and it needs to be said before this goes any further.”

“Alright. Sure Bree. What is it?”

“Well for the past month or so, there’s been a distance between us and I know you’ve felt it. Every time I’m here with you it’s like there’s a ten foot wall between us while we’re in the same room. I have to repeat the things I say to you twice because you didn’t hear me the first time. I hate having to get your attention before I say something. The fact that it takes you all day to respond to a text gives me the feeling that you dread speaking to me.”

“I know Bree and I’m so sorr-“

“Wait. I really need to get this out or it will explode inside of me; next thing we’re arguing and my temper will get the best of me. We don’t see eye to eye on anything anymore so I kind of… and don’t get mad but I met someone. We started talking and even went so far as to hang out the other day. I figured you would call but my phone didn’t hear from you at all that day. I was so upset just thinking about you ignoring me that I began to fall deeper and deeper for this guy. Long story short I ended up cheating on you that night. I didn’t purposely mean to do it but one thing lead to another and…..I messed up.”

“How could you? I go through some changes in my life telling myself that you would understand just to come here and have this thrown in my face? I planned on marrying you, making you the mother of my children but I guess I was the only one in this relationship that felt this way.”

“I understand it’s a lot to take in at once but the signs were clear. We need a break.”

As soon as she says this, the television in the background seems to get louder to Jason as the news reporter announces, “That’s right folks! Right here in our very own neighborhood is the winning ticket to the $300 million jackpot. Still no response but records indicate that it was purchased at this Fast Jack’s convenient store right behind me. By law, the winner…” The television fades out as Jason puts a lottery ticket in his pocket.

“Break says that there’s a chance that we’ll be back together again. We’re done.”

Bree leaves the apartment as the winning lottery numbers are announced and displayed on the screen. Jason smiles, sits on the couch and is comforted as he pats his side pocket to hear the sound of wrinkled paper muffled inside his denim jeans. 

Leave a Reply

